Thread: 1000w Amp and 8 speaker@8ohm, help with ohm matching

1000w Amp and 8 speaker@8ohm, help with ohm matching

I want to setup a PA system (in my new barn/playhouse that will never move) to drive 6-8 speakers, with each speaker rated at 75 watts RMS @8 ohms and 92 db sensitivity. I will use a 750 watt or 1000 watt amp in an 8 Ohm bridged mode (that means a 500 watt@8ohms amp with 2 channels, but will configure it as bridged and get 1000 watt@8ohms). I am new to all of this, so please be patient.

Please see attached pictures for the specifications and possible configuration. One of my pictures shows one possible “parallel” configuration, but I am just not sure of my ohms understanding.

I am building a barn/playhouse in Thailand, and it is 15meters x 15 meters inside (50 feet x 50 feet). This system is for the inside. Thai’s like it loud. See attached picture.

My primary question is getting the resistance/ohms correct with so many speakers, and what is a decent strategy for getting it done. I can see some of the first decisions is wiring parallel or serial. I watched YouTube and read websites to understand this. I focused on Parallel, as the wiring is simpler for me.

- Do I add resistors to the circuit, so at the end, the amp is presented with something around 8 Ohms? I included a picture of adding a 100 watt@50 Ohm resistor to each speaker, in order to get back to roughly 8 ohms. If I add a 50 ohm resistor to 8 ohm speaker, I get 58 ohm speaker. If I have 8 speakers, I assume I take 58 ohms/8 speakers to get around 7 ohms total resistance?
    - For a system with 75 watt speakers, driven by a 1000 watt@8Ohms bridge mono amp, so I use 100 watt resistors? I hope so, as they seem easy to get. Bigger ones are harder to get and get expensive? I have attached a picture from China on the type of resistors I can easily get.