Thread: Structuring a Mix

Structuring a Mix

Hi!

So, I'm relatively new to DJing, and obviously with the current situation there is no opportunity to play at parties or gigs so I'm focusing on getting some mixes recorded and uploading them to MixCloud. I'm really enjoying honing my skills by doing this but I've been finding it difficult to know what to play next, in terms of the journey through the mix as a whole.

Obviously, I want there to be changes in bpm/key/vibe throughout the mix but without a room/crowd to read, it's hard to know where to go with it.

This might be a redundant question that doesn't really have an answer and it's each to their own, but thought I'd use this *amazing* forum to gain some insight from people with far more experience than me.

Thanks!

but without a room/crowd to read,
    Play what you like.

Cheers for the reply, Manu. I am doing that but was just wondering if there are generally any structuring tips to make the mix better to listen to. I'm almost picturing a 'mountain' image atm, where I start relatively low-mid in energy, build to a peak (the summit) and then bring it down to finish again. Is this overthinking it? Is it really as simple as playing what I like at this point?

If you run out of inspiration just break it down and script it.

Pick two songs, try a mix. If song two does not work, pick another, try again. Doesn't work again, pick another, try again. Find what works for you, take a note, repeat. Eventually you end up with a list.

When I do a mix, it's usually calm cool-ishquiet intro into full slam and I don't ever let go, I will sustain. I had this tip once from a pro friend who sold millions of singles, "don't let the beat drop, or the sense of a beat, ever".