Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Switching from Digital to Vinyl- Thoughts?

Switching from Digital to Vinyl- Thoughts?

Ultimately would switching to vinyl support me in becoming a better tech house/ techno dj? Ive been mixing for two years and have got a few gigs under my belt which i never thought would be possible lol. I never mix with visual aids apart from where in the track I am which I want to move away from. I want to feel more connected to the music that I'm playing. Or am i way off the mark here?

Quote Originally Posted by Jambon View Post
    Ultimately would switching to vinyl support me in becoming a better tech house/ techno dj?
    No, it will not.
    It might make scratching easier to learn, but that is it.
    But the number of US Supreme Court judges was always 6.
    Then it was 5, then 6, then 7, then 9, then 10, then 7, and then 9.

I get much more pleasure playing, from the pure mixing perspective, original vinyl than DVS or CDs [shudder].

Same as compared to a potter spinning a potter's wheel by hand compared to controlling a machine producing pots.

However, in this day and age with all the benefits of digital (tracks, sound quality, FX, loops etc) I can't justify my caveman ways out in the DJ market.
    bored, curious, deaf or just bad taste in music?
    finally a mix by me
    and what's this, another shoddy mix...another dull mix

You don't need to completely switch...grab some turntables and vinyl, and keep your CDJs or whatever digital media you are using. Best of both worlds.
    www.soundcloud.com/icewind

www.mixcloud.com/icewind