Thread: FL Studio 20 v Ableton

FL Studio 20 v Ableton

Hey,

As per my previous posts I've recently purchased FL Studio 20, it's amazing to be fair. However because i'm totally new to production (techno is my thing) I'm finding that most of the tutorials on YouTube that i'm using for learning material are all based in Ableton!! What a mare. So i'm having great difficulty in transferring and replicating what i'm trying to follow and learn into FL Studio! It's basically slowing my learning down loads.

Obviously it's early days and I won't let it deter me from learning to produce, I just want to make things as easy for myself as possible.

So my question is, do you think it's worth me jumping over to Ableton? Or should I stick with Fruity Loops?

Cheers

unfortunate that's a personal decision you need to make. However, I will say that you shouldn't move to a new DAW just because you find more instructional videos for that 1 software. If you really want to stick with FL, look for a community specific to that program and get more detailed help there.

My choice to move to Ableton was more because I found it easier to use that what I decided to start with - Reason. It was an awesome DAW but I couldn't wrap my head around it and it was a huge learning curve for me. I think it was because it was designed for producers moving from hardware to software and that was not my background.

When I tried out Live and instantly felt more familiar with the layout and setup. Granted it was way back when it was just getting popular and before YouTube was flooded with with tutorials and maybe I would have went straight to Live instead of Reason but i'm glad I got to try out more than 1 DAW.