Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ex-producer to absolute beginner DJ - need advice on controller, tracks and life...

Question Ex-producer to absolute beginner DJ - need advice on controller, tracks and life...

Hello, guys.

I've been producing electronic music (more like a hobby, although I had a few commercial releases) since the time of Cakewalk 1.0 on Windows 3.1 (if anyone still remembers). No, the dinosaurs were already extinct at the time...

So, I know what filters do, what is BPM, how do effects sound, what is musical key, etc., etc. I also can operate almost any synthesizer, drum machine, sampler and DAW in existence.

However, all that knowledge, although useful, is nothing, if I want to try myself at DJ-ing. So, I would greatly appreciate if someone could answer a few questions below.

1. I am 53 years old. Is it too late to start? Will I look downright silly at a club or a rave? Will I be laughed at?

2. My preferred genres are Progressive Trance - Techno Trance - Hard Techno. Could you, please, recommend a few (dozen) tracks to start building my library?

3. I also plan to mix my own tracks. Not even as much mix, as to create them on the fly - having beat line on one deck, tune, pads and arpeggios on others, use an external sampler, maybe even a small synth. Will it be interesting to the public? Or they don't give a damn?

4. I do NOT want to use a laptop. Instead, I want an all-in-one standalone machine. As the choice is not excessive, I narrowed down to two possibilities: Pioneer XDJ RX2 versus Denon MCX8000. Apart from the fact that it's 2 versus 4 channel mixers, which one would you recommend? (I have no intention to start a holy war here, so if this question is too sensitive, please, ignore it). Denon Prime 4 is, to my great regret, out of my budget league. XDJ-RR although newer, is a stripped version of RX2.

Well, that's about it. See you, guys.