Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Denon DN-S3700ís, VDJ8, MBP and a Rane 62 Set up Help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469

    Denon DN-S3700ís, VDJ8, MBP and a Rane 62 Set up Help

    Hello everyone,

    For the fun of it I recently acquired a set of 3700ís. Itís been a nightmare getting this system to work. After going from Turntables to DVS boxes, to controllers I figured it would be easy to set up. Well one week later and still not where I need to be.

    The closest I got was to get everything running properly with the exception that the platters and software were not in sync. Iíve read many guides and watched tutorials.... I need help.

    I know the 3700ís are a decade old, but Iím hoping that in a decade thereís some guidance that figured it out!

    So Iím asking if anyone can help me configure this setup?

    I have Serato DJ Pro too, but being that the 3700ís work natively with VDJ via MIDI then Iím going that route.

    I think my issue is with which soundcard I choose. Either the 62 or the soundcards in the 3700ís.

    Again any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Que Yi



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469
    Yes,

    Iím using VDJ Pro. Thanks for the links!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    270
    good luck, take a video if u still doesnt work. but also ask in those forums i posted, they might be able to help more.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by farhanashraf View Post
    good luck, take a video if u still doesnt work. but also ask in those forums i posted, they might be able to help more.
    Thanks! Iíve visited and revisited all of the links within the last week. Have even printed out guides. I think my issue is that Iíve been blending the two concepts of the sound cards.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469

    Denon DN-S3700ís, VDJ8, MBP and a Rane 62 Set up Help

    Quote Originally Posted by farhanashraf View Post
    good luck, take a video if u still doesnt work. but also ask in those forums i posted, they might be able to help more.
    Thanks! Iíve visited and revisited all of the links within the last week. Have even printed out guides. I think the issue has to do something with the MIDI functionality of deck 2.

    Hereís the video of the issues that Iím having. Itís extremely frustrating!!!

    https://youtu.be/5q3XklHsUYA


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by DJ Que Yi; 08-25-2019 at 09:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    270
    i was gonna say that. i think u can do one or the other and not both at the same time.

    try swapping the decks and see if the fault moves and then compare both decks side by side and see why 1 is working and the other isnt

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469
    Update: So itís been a week and a half of watching you tube videos, reading VDJ, Serato boards and guides, and contacting both VDJ support and Denon support, and updating firmware and drivers still I have no stability in using two DJ-S3700ís and a Rane 62. Optionally I can use a Denon X600, but I donít think it will make a difference.

    The most stable setup has been to use VDJ Pro V8 through MIDI (not hybrid MIDI) for one unit and use instant doubles. All functions worked and I didnít experience any latency issues ( tested for an hour). The experience was great. This works but renders my other unit useless.

    The 2nd most stable set up was using the Serato Time Code on USBís. Most functions worked but the latency issues would pop up after 15 minutes of play. This worked for VDJ 8 and. Serato DJ Pro. This experience was disappointing due to the latency issues.

    So here is where I would like everyoneís help. Btw all firmware has been updated for all hardware components. Being that the decks are over a decade old should I revert back to Serato Scratch Live and older versions of VDJ 7? I donít need all the latest features of the newer software to cut and mix. Iím really only interested in replicating my 1200ís Iím being able to cut and scratch. My thought is that maybe the units arenít and havenít been supported enough to use with modern software. If anyone is aware of a stable setup using modern software please chime in.

    All in one controllers dominate the market and are more plug and play and offer out of the box stability. With the 3700ís I thought I would have a cheaper alternative to the Rane 12ís! But they have been a pain.

    So what are your thoughts? Should I sell this setup and move on?

    Thanks,
    Que Yi


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Dubai, UAE
    Posts
    270
    if vdj 7 works for u, do it. a lot of ppl r still running ssl/

    if u want to leep up with the current times, id say upgrade.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    469
    Quote Originally Posted by farhanashraf View Post
    if vdj 7 works for u, do it. a lot of ppl r still running ssl/

    if u want to leep up with the current times, id say upgrade.
    I might just do that. This started out as a novelty purchase and not a main rig purchase. I think I will try out the X600 mixer with the older software. The X600 is fully MIDI mappable so I can map cue points. - well this is all in theory.

    Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
a