Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: How do people make tapping the cue button sound good?

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    8

    How do people make tapping the cue button sound good?

    Hi all, this may be quite confusing if i dont explain it well but im going to try my best. When i see people doing sets and they press the cue button over and over again and it says like half a second of the song and it sounds decent but when i do it on my SB3 it sounds awful. It literally just plays a tiny sound of the song, is it because of my controller? Are others more sensitive? This is a really bad explanation so i'll add a video, when EZ spams the cue button it sounds good. How do i do this?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Posts
    57
    Oh man that’s cool!
    Sorry I can’t explain it though...

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    14
    whoo, the man is skilled ! I guess I take some practice to do that properly

    Maybe it is also because of latency caused by your controller, computer or speakers. If you have, let's say, 30ms of latency between the time you press Cue and the time the sounds actually comes out the speaker then it may ruin any rapid Cue tapping.

  4. #4
    The Green Pea Manu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On your screen
    Posts
    8,043
    Nothing new, it's just tapping on one button and building some groove around one sound. Check out this intro:


  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    Silvermoon City
    Posts
    11
    Huh, not bad at all, i would say pretty nice, but comparing with this... well, i wont say anything, watch and learn kiddos!



  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by lukepalmerrrr View Post
    Hi all, this may be quite confusing if i dont explain it well but im going to try my best. When i see people doing sets and they press the cue button over and over again and it says like half a second of the song and it sounds decent but when i do it on my SB3 it sounds awful. It literally just plays a tiny sound of the song, is it because of my controller? Are others more sensitive? This is a really bad explanation so i'll add a video, when EZ spams the cue button it sounds good. How do i do this?
    You can change where the cue starts and finishes manually.

    Learn how to use Loops in Serato DJ Pro
    5:14
    Howie Hawkins for President 2020

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    melbourne, australia
    Posts
    34
    thats pretty cool ive got a traktor kontrol s2, but ill stick with the cdj's and 1200s haha...

  8. #8
    Traktor has cue sync (something I found out very late in my career) but it's inaccurate at times (edit : or in fact the beat grid is off, I was very reluctant to adjust them unless I had to because I managed to totally screw them at times).. basically it allows you to cue to the beat grid, or the next beat, I don't recall whether this could be changed in pull down menu somewhere to 1/2, 1/4, 1/8th etc.

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Location
    melbourne, australia
    Posts
    34
    with cdjs and the cue button it takes lots of practise... i always have my cdjs set to vinyl mode i find it easier to find the first beat etc... when youve been pressing the cue button like 20 times per song for beat atching you get the hang of it, or using it with the fader and reverb/delay fx to create a boom in the break of a track...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
a