Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Liking your own music you produce?

Liking your own music you produce?

Hi People. Ive got a question and maybe a theory for all us new and bedroom producers i think we can discuss and i think it might help some people including myself out.

Once you get the hang of starting to find your own sound. And you start spitting out tracks, they eventully start sounding boaring or silly to yourself. (Note your tracks are completed and the mix down is done) then you leave those tracks and pull them up a few months later in my instance listening to it in my car with mates. And every one including myself is like wow what awesome shit is this???

Have you experienced that and what does it mean or is it a good sign?

Mr Lee

Sent from my SM-G532F using Tapatalk

I am not a producer but I understand your point.

I tend to find that the individual is his own worst critic. You may be overly critical of your own tracks. Maybe let some friends, whom you respect and trust, have a listen and ask them for their opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Lee View Post
    Have you experienced that and what does it mean or is it a good sign?
    Liking your own stuff isn't automatic, as stated above. So yes, it's always a good sign if you enjoy it.
    Unforgiving, unrelenting, unrecoverable double beats!

Once the wife and kid are asleep... the DJ awakens

I've just started producing about a year ago.

All of my tracks sounded like crap. There was a few elements in each track I thought were good, but the part does not make the whole. I have started to make tracks I think sound good and I like. I release all my music on my website as well as on social media and I contribute to a record pool.

I am still finding "my" sound. I am just still testing the waters I guess.

Well, I think my own tunes sound sometimes like a peace of crap, and sometimes like super-hits.
    Over-listening will make you ill.