Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Software and computer

Software and computer

I am currently using Automix to mix music for events and I'm looking to get a new computer and want to get a newer program to use. Any suggestions? Also could use suggestions on brand and memory size. I have been using the laptop I have now for about 10 years. Time to upgrade!

Good question. There is a lot to consider. Basically get something with at least 8 gigs of ram and a 1.5 GHz processor. The more ram the better and the faster the processor the better. There are many brands that will do the job quite well. I use an HP Envy. It starts up really fast and works super well so far. I blog about laptop specs here.

I don't like to speak badly about any brands but I would avoid Dell right now. Or at least avoid the 2 models I've had. I had 2 Dell laptops that had issues. My Dell Inspiron (7000 series) had a power cord that had to be replaced, the display panel had to be fixed, the fan runs often and loud, and it would run slowly although it had 16 Gigs of ram. My HP Envy also has 16 Gigs of Ram and it performs much better. I believe it's a gaming laptop. I also have a Dell Precision 5510 laptop with 32 gigs of ram, which runs nice and fast but I also had to replace the power cord. Also, the touch pad area is protruding from the laptop for some reason.

If I was buying another laptop I would buy a gaming laptop - one with minimum gaming specs because I'm not a gamer. See this PC World article.
    Last edited by djeternal; 08-28-2018 at 11:36 AM.
    Check out the Virtual Party Pack - Icebreaker and game ideas for your virtual events

What about software? I looked at virtual DJ and a couple others but not sure what to get.