Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What dj software can i run on low spec laptop

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Stoke on trent
    Posts
    2

    What dj software can i run on low spec laptop

    Hi I am a complete beginner so sorry if any of this sounds stupid.

    I recently bought myself the new DDJ-400 by pioneer. All was good until I started realising my shit laptop wasn't going be near good enough to use rekordbox, so I instantly went out and found a cheap second hand laptop which was better than what I had.
    Little did I no that rekordbox still won't run on a intel celeron processor, only the ones beginning with 'i'.. So the question is will rekordbox run at all on this laptop? If not is there any software that I could use that requires lower specs? This is just until I get paid and get a decent laptop..

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    old orléans
    Posts
    1,658
    which celeron?

    a modern celeron is the same or better than a 7 year old i3...a celeron older than a couple of years is potato.
    and a lot of the original DJ software came out before even dual core processors were popular, so audio manipulation is not too processor intensive really.

    but it all depends.
    the only way of really checking is to run the software.
    bored, curious, deaf or just bad taste in music?
    finally a mix by me
    and what's this, another shoddy mix...another dull mix

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    a modern celeron is the same or better than a 7 year old i3...a celeron older than a couple of years is potato.
    Haha

    EDIT : I think the Celerons are all single-core processors.. the i-line is called intel Core/Core 2 Duo or Quad. Most audio software is 32-bit though and to run a quad-core system you need a 64-bit OS which can run 32-bit software but not the other way around.

  4. #4
    Moderator pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    old orléans
    Posts
    1,658
    Quote Originally Posted by efinque View Post
    Haha

    EDIT : I think the Celerons are all single-core processors.. the i-line is called intel Core/Core 2 Duo or Quad.
    Celeron are generally low binned processors that are good enough to do stuff...slowly...only in the year they are produced in.
    So this year its Gemini Lake. Which is called Pentium Silver.
    Grrr gets confusing.
    But they can be multicore, multithread. Just watch out on the soldered RAM...

    Its a shame they didn't continue with the Atom line, the last few batches were pretty tidy 4 core jobbies.
    Last edited by pete; 07-11-2018 at 03:46 PM.
    bored, curious, deaf or just bad taste in music?
    finally a mix by me
    and what's this, another shoddy mix...another dull mix

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Celeron are generally low binned processors that are good enough too do stuff...slowly...only in the year they are produced in.
    I think a Celeron is ok for text editing and web browsing.

    Its a shame they didn't continue with the Atom line, the last few batches were pretty tidy 4 core jobbies.
    Aren't the Atom processors mobile? Such as the one used in iPhones and iPads.

  6. #6
    Moderator pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    old orléans
    Posts
    1,658
    Quote Originally Posted by efinque View Post
    I think a Celeron is ok for text editing and web browsing.



    Aren't the Atom processors mobile? Such as the one used in iPhones and iPads.
    atom are low powered, so some versions are used on mobile devices as well, such as tablets (and phones when intel made phone processors).

    Apple make their own chips based on british designs for tablets/phones.
    bored, curious, deaf or just bad taste in music?
    finally a mix by me
    and what's this, another shoddy mix...another dull mix

  7. #7
    Deez Beats! KLH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    In your head
    Posts
    7,193
    You might be able to run older versions of current DJ apps... maybe. The experience will be frustrating though. Forget running CPU intensive features like flexible beat-grids or keylock though.

    Better yet, save the hassle and get a 2-3 years old laptop with 2 cores or more. You'll find (as I did) that the modern features are worth the hassle... especially if you're starting out.
    -KLH
    Visit DJF's Beginner's MEGA thread and drop by my Facebook Fan Page.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Stoke on trent
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for all your comments. I thought I'd risk it and run rekordbox on the celeron laptop and to be honest everything seems OK so far. Only thing is the wave seems a little slow to show but not that bad for someone like me just messing around. Probably not the best place to ask but any recommendations on a laptop that meets the requirements of rekordbox? Preferably not too expensive.

  9. #9
    Member djeternal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    619
    Well, the minimum system requirements are this - https://rekordbox.com/en/support/system.php

    What do you mean by not too expensive? Also, why not check Best Buy, Amazon, or wherever you feel comfortable buying a laptop?
    Last edited by djeternal; 07-12-2018 at 08:00 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
a