Thread: What dj software can i run on low spec laptop

Hybrid View

What dj software can i run on low spec laptop

Hi I am a complete beginner so sorry if any of this sounds stupid.

I recently bought myself the new DDJ-400 by pioneer. All was good until I started realising my shit laptop wasn't going be near good enough to use rekordbox, so I instantly went out and found a cheap second hand laptop which was better than what I had.
    Little did I no that rekordbox still won't run on a intel celeron processor, only the ones beginning with 'i'.. So the question is will rekordbox run at all on this laptop? If not is there any software that I could use that requires lower specs? This is just until I get paid and get a decent laptop..

Thanks

which celeron?

a modern celeron is the same or better than a 7 year old i3...a celeron older than a couple of years is potato.
    and a lot of the original DJ software came out before even dual core processors were popular, so audio manipulation is not too processor intensive really.

but it all depends.
    the only way of really checking is to run the software.
    bored, curious, deaf or just bad taste in music?
    finally a mix by me
    and what's this, another shoddy mix...another dull mix

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    a modern celeron is the same or better than a 7 year old i3...a celeron older than a couple of years is potato.
    Haha

EDIT : I think the Celerons are all single-core processors.. the i-line is called intel Core/Core 2 Duo or Quad. Most audio software is 32-bit though and to run a quad-core system you need a 64-bit OS which can run 32-bit software but not the other way around.

Quote Originally Posted by efinque View Post
    Haha

EDIT : I think the Celerons are all single-core processors.. the i-line is called intel Core/Core 2 Duo or Quad.
    Celeron are generally low binned processors that are good enough to do stuff...slowly...only in the year they are produced in.