Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: I need a generator for an upcoming event...suggestions?

  1. #1
    Member DJ Rock Diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    442

    I need a generator for an upcoming event...suggestions?

    I'm doing a homecoming dance for 600 kids this weekend. It's going to be outside under their ramada. There are 2 outlets, but I don't think that's going to be enough. Here's my gear list: JBL SRX828 x2, JBL SRX818, JBL SRX815 x2, JBL PRX715 x2, JBLPRX800, Martin Wizard x2, Chauvet Geyser x2, Chauvet thinpar x8.

    I'm concerned about the subs throwing a breaker, so I think that I'd like to run the sound off of the generator and the lights off their power. Any thoughts on a good generator that could handle the task?

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    30
    Those Geysers are the real power consumers at about 11A each they consume more than the speakers at about 2A each.

    Not sure you could run the Fog and lights off of their outlet.

  3. #3
    Member DJ Rock Diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    442
    Quote Originally Posted by shoot summ View Post
    Those Geysers are the real power consumers at about 11A each they consume more than the speakers at about 2A each.

    Not sure you could run the Fog and lights off of their outlet.
    Great point! I just checked, I have the Geyser P6 and they actually draw 13.1 amps. I may run the tops and lights off of their power and the Geysers and Subs off of the generator
    Last edited by DJ Rock Diesel; 09-26-2017 at 05:04 PM.

  4. #4
    How far are you from the next closest outlet?
    Hewlett Packard the backbone of Apple data centers.
    I will not read anything in Comic sans

  5. #5
    Member DJ Rock Diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    442
    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown DJ View Post
    How far are you from the next closest outlet?
    Probably 20-30ft. I would feel comfortable running an extension cord that far for the lights, but not sound

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,629
    You need a 10kva generator to run your sound system at full tilt boogie, I know from personal experience this summer that a 4000w generator isn't enough to run a 6000w double 18 over double 15 PA system.
    Paul O'Brien
    Old Tech Guy
    www.Techott.com

  7. #7
    Member DJ Rock Diesel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Scottsdale AZ
    Posts
    442
    Quote Originally Posted by conanski View Post
    You need a 10kva generator to run your sound system at full tilt boogie, I know from personal experience this summer that a 4000w generator isn't enough to run a 6000w double 18 over double 15 PA system.
    Do you think that an 8000w would do the job?

    I actually just found a 10000w that I can rent for $100
    Last edited by DJ Rock Diesel; 09-26-2017 at 05:41 PM.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Rock Diesel View Post
    Probably 20-30ft. I would feel comfortable running an extension cord that far for the lights, but not sound
    you will be fine if your using 12 gauge. 12 gauge is good for up to 100 feet @ 15 amps.


    http://www.calculator.net/voltage-dr...s=15&x=57&y=21

    at 40 feet @ 15 amps

    Voltage drop: 1.91
    Voltage drop percentage: 1.59%
    Voltage at the end: 118.09
    Hewlett Packard the backbone of Apple data centers.
    I will not read anything in Comic sans

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Ottawa Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,629
    Quote Originally Posted by DJ Rock Diesel View Post
    I actually just found a 10000w that I can rent for $100
    There you go.
    Paul O'Brien
    Old Tech Guy
    www.Techott.com

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Unknown DJ View Post
    How far are you from the next closest outlet?
    Most schools save the money and have all the outlets in an "area" on the same breaker. If it's a new wall then its probably a new breaker.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
a