Thread: One of those neverending questions...

One of those neverending questions...

Okay I have done numerous Google searches before posting here (I know some of the experienced users here will frown on the question like below, it might probably seem noobish) but still I'd really appreciate if you guys could help me finally get clear with my future Dj setup. I'm not a beginner to whole this DJing thing (I started off as a producer first and only now considering to start DJIng). Theoretically I know how each piece of gear works and it's probably the lack of practical aspect that prevents me from answering my question myself.
    The setup I currently plan is an analogue mixer (probably Numark M6 - my budget is restricted), X1 (to be complemented by F1 in future) and KA6 (already bought - yeah, only 2 outputs but might upgrade in future). So my question is - what do I lose if I choose X1 instead of more traditional S2/S4? Ok there are no jog wheels/pitch sliders on X1 but not having them is a deal breaker? Or does it deprive a DJ of that feeling of mixing live? Can't X1 replace S2 to perform beatmatching function (I am not a frequent sync button user .
    Or just forget all the above written and get a used Xone DX? It's still a controller though, not a standalone mixer, but I mean, poor controllers wouldn't cost over 1K, and DX is built pretty sturdily and has XLR outputs. Would the quality and headroom from DX still be better than that of M6+X1, despite being digital vs analogue?
    Thanks all in advance!

Sure, you can control software with a few mapped buttons and knobs, but it really won't feel good for mixing.
    It is a work around.
    A controller with sliders, wheels etc will be much better.

Kinda like, you don't need a keyboard to type, you can just use a mouse with on-screen keyboard.
    But using a keyboard is just feels better for the purpose.

Out of the options you mention the DX seems the best, if you are going down the software route.