Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Anyone DJ with an iMac?

  1. #1

    Anyone DJ with an iMac?

    I've gone through two Macbook Pro's that have experienced motherboard (logic board) issue's and also hard drive cable issue's. It seems iMac's are bigger, cool better, and are cheaper than the notebooks. It might look silly DJing with a 21" iMac but it may be worth a shot. I'm kind of over Macbook Pro's..

  2. #2
    Supermod pea Manu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    On your screen
    Posts
    5,028
    Any computer at home is fine, provided that the specs meet the requirements. Now on the move, I don't think so.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Tarnowskie Góry, Poland
    Posts
    169
    Well, at home there is no problem. But I can't imagine that You'll take it to a gig

    It can look preety funny btw.

    Best regards,

    Tomek

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    370
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr_Herringbone View Post


    Who does this guy think he is?

    Sasha?
    Last Night A BJ Choked My Wife - What did she expect, I was Indeep.

  6. #6
    Junior Member logisticalstyles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    97
    I was once in a battle and someone entered with an iMac. Shit took forever to set up.
    My mission is to boldly go where no DJ has gone before

  7. #7
    Member DJ Bobcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    417

    Anyone DJ with an iMac?

    Just got my first iMac yesterday. Haven't had time to load Traktor on it yet, but that's comin'. I'm considering using it as the computer for my small system. Right now I have a rack-mounted PC and a 22" monitor. The iMac (21.5") is about the same size, and would eliminate the rack-mounted computer. Less weight and less cables. Only drawback is the iMac has no holes for a VESA bracket and you can't even remove the stand unless you pretty much disassemble the computer. The third-party VESA kits essentially screw on to the stand, and they not only look clunky, they wouldn't allow me to fold the iMac down like I currently can with my 22" monitor. Just got it yesterday, though, so I still have lots of thinkin' and experimentin' to do on it. Perhaps I'll come up with a solution. I know one DJ who uses an iMac and just carries it in its own case.


    Above is a pic of the way my monitor is currently mounted. If the iMac had a VESA mount, I would be able to do the same.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by DJ Bobcat; 03-23-2017 at 12:28 PM.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    54
    I use a mac mini for mobile work. It works just fine for mobile and I can use any size monitor that I need. I use it with Traktor.
    Last edited by DjDominic; 04-07-2017 at 03:44 PM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by DjDominic View Post
    I use a mac mini for mobile work. It works just fine for mobile and I can use any size monitor that I need. I use it with Traktor.
    DVS? What monitor do you usually bring with you?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    54
    I usually use an Asus monitor. You can use any monitor you want. Small or large. I use a larger because of my old man eyes. I use Traktor and a Kontrol S4.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
a