Thread: Transition Help

Transition Help

I am fairly new to DJing. I have been actively practicing for about 6 months now. I like to mix trap and dubstep mostly.

Normally I dj by setting cue points at the first beat, 8 bars before the drop (if I want to double drop a different song), and 16 bars before the end of the drop (or chorus). If I am, say, letting track A play and I want to transition track B in smoothly, I will cue up track B and mix it in using volume and EQ so that the first beat comes in when the drop (or chorus) ends on track A.

I've tried to find some common "rule of thumb" techniques for transitioning but am having trouble doing so (and I know that people are gonna say there's no exact method for transitioning, I just want some outsider opinions). I am curious to see if that is a common method of transitioning songs, and if not, what method do you like to use when transitioning?

There are couple of things to try and do but nothing is ever set in stone.
    New track drop after 4 bars will often result in good things.
    But also dropping new track at the start of the phase will work well.
    Depends on the track and length of intro.
    Try not to ever have both bass at full it will sound like shit or muddy. That's is pretty much a no no across the board, but can be done if you drop the volume of one, and also if they don't clash.

Only practice will get more understanding of these things but most things depend on the tracks your using.

I went through this when I first started mixing. you get in your head that if you can find a formula it will help you progress but as soon as you do you'll get a track what doesn't work that way.