Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sub Woofer Necessary.....???

Sub Woofer Necessary.....???

I am a part of this organization and every year we have this outdoor event that showcases music, art and dancing.

First time being in charge of the PA system and sound.

Specifications:

1. Outdoor
    2. About 500 - 1000 people.
    3. 2 Days. 8am - 4pm
    4. Some dance acts with music.
    5. Some singing.

But mostly...MC's and Speeches.

Current event PA Setup: 2 18" subs & 2 Dual 15" top/mid combo.

Caveat / Confusion:

I have been attending this event for over 20 years. They just recently started using subwoofers for this event. But one thing I have noticed is...Most of the music style/genre that's being played for the event has NO LOW END/BASS at all.

Not only that...But 60-70% of the event is mainly speeches and MC's.

Therefore...Do I really need Subwoofers for an event like this where most of the frequency range won't even dip as low as 60hz...???

If anything...most of the low end on the music that's being played probably won't even dip as low as 80 - 100hz.

Im trying to avoid the extra hassle of bringing subs. I'm lazy. I don't want to bring the subs if the music/singing ain't even gonna dip low enough for their purpose/use.

Help...???
    "May the beats be with you" ~ ChewBacca ~

what music style/genre are being played ?
    Tech1200s & 1210 pioneer cdj1000, DDJ-sx2,vci-300, serato itch ssl sdj, rane sl1 57 62, RCF-745's qsc k12 jbl-vrx918sp, JBL-VRX932LAP, DriveRack-PA2, Macbook pro+windows 7, Macbook Air Ipad,benQ-mx620st Projector,JBL-VRXhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFAQ0GZu_P8

The one thing I've realized with PA speakers is that bass is hard to handle - particularly outdoors.

By taking the bass, subs allow tops to go louder. Since you're outside and you have 1000 people, you'll need all the volume you can muster.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk
    -KLH
    Visit DJF's Beginner's MEGA thread and drop by my Facebook Fan Page.