Thread: Does the 8" EV ZXA1-90B sound better than the 12" ZLX-12p?

Does the 8" EV ZXA1-90B sound better than the 12" ZLX-12p?

Wondering. The EV 8" ZXA $500 vs the EV 12" ZLX-12p $350.
    Which one sounds better? Just curious

Any of you compared the two side by side? I have the ZLX 12ps BTW.
    I heard alot of good reveiws about the sound off this little 8". But of course most everybody is really happy with their ZLX 12s too.
    I am not a professional DJ. It's a backyard hobby I love! In the garage. Numark ndx-500, American Audio 10 mxr , 4 BFM tuba 24s, EV ZLX 12p's, Truss full of lights. I STILL have all my equipment as of June 2019!

The ZXA uses better drivers and it's bi-amped, so chances are it sounds better, though it probably won't go as loud.
    Bill Fitzmaurice
    Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    www.billfitzmaurice.info/forum

Bill is correct, the ZXA1 sounds better but doesn't go quite as loud.
    BillESC
    Lighting, Sound & Video since 1973
    804-435-6858 [email][bill@entsyscorp.com]

In what way do they sound better. More bass etc?

How many people could these speakers cover. These 8 inch speakers alone, without a sub.

What are other brands that are similar to this zxa1 8 inch
    I am not a professional DJ. It's a backyard hobby I love! In the garage. Numark ndx-500, American Audio 10 mxr , 4 BFM tuba 24s, EV ZLX 12p's, Truss full of lights. I STILL have all my equipment as of June 2019!

The weight is pretty impressive also.
    ZXA1-90B = 19 pounds
    ZXA1-Sub = 46 pounds

(ZLX-12P = 34 pounds)
    But the number of US Supreme Court judges was always 6.
    Then it was 5, then 6, then 7, then 9, then 10, then 7, and then 9.

Quote Originally Posted by fueledbymusic View Post
    How many people could these speakers cover. These 8 inch speakers alone, without a sub.
    Not many. Subs are not optional equipment, unless you're doing bingo games at the old folks home.
    Bill Fitzmaurice
    Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design