Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Beat Matching Question

Beat Matching Question

When two songs are not in sync but are at the same tempo, it can be kind of difficult to tell exactly which song is ahead and which is behind (for me at least... i have no experience). To me, it just sound cluttered and clearly off. Do you guys consider it "cheating" to use the level meters on the mixer as a visual aid to get them in sync? Is there a better way to do it?

I don't see how you could consider that cheating, although not really optimal imo. I just use my ears. Once you learn the tracks a little bit and get used to beatmatching you'll be able to get a handle on it. Try pulling one track ahead, see if it's better or worse. If it's better, keep going with it until it matches up. If it makes it worse, just pull it in the opposite direction until you get the desired result.

Take off your headphones and play around with 'em. I learned real quick which one to adjust.
    DJM-850 | Technics 1210 M5G x 2 | CDJ-900 x 2 | RCF 312A MKIII x 2 - Soundcloud
    1-v-1 Battle Record: 1-0 / 1-v-1-v-1 Battle Record: 0-1

it gets easier as you get the hang of it, soon becoming second nature allowing you to notice if you have to speed up or slow down.

Try this, if the beats are similar, try zoning in on a specific element of the incomin track and try to get that in tempo with the other track. Instead of only listening for the kick, focus on the hi hats. Not sure if makes sense to you, but Its all about trainning your ears.

What equipment is giving you the bpm readout? Not everything is perfect. Especially on the pitch altered track. The best bpm counter you can trust are your ears. If the bpm counter shows to the whole number, i.e - 125bpm, then its not realiable.