Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Effect advice [Beginner]

Hybrid View

Question Effect advice [Beginner]

Hello peepz,

I'm new to the DJ scene. I've bought a set with 2 CDJ's and a mixer (http://bit.ly/fOxSPT) one month ago. My question is, is it possible to connect something like this (http://bit.ly/kCDOjM) to my mixer? Or is this only meant for midi DJ'ing? (Eg: Traktor)

Thanks in advance,

Jordy Beckers

the kaoss pad can be used with DJ mixers but i'm afraid not with the particular model you own. the Numark M6 lacks the send/return connections that you'd need to connect the kaoss pad.
    Quote Originally Posted by EarnYourKeep
    name one dj that can replicate richie's drums in a minimal techno way, this coming from a plastikman background...then again i figure trance heads would respond this way they always seek the BUILD UP AND DROP THE BASS BRO

FYI, OP wants to connect a Kaoss pad effects unit.

OP, in order to use an effects unit with a mixer, you need a method of sending sound to it (usually called Aux sends) and returning sound from it (usually called aux returns).

The M6 doesn't have aux sends and returns. There's another way, but doing so only sends the master out to the Kaoss unit. Use the record outputs as an aux send and use channel 3 as your return. This may create a feedback loop (especially for echoes), but should work otherwise.

I would recommend replacing the mixer BEFORE buying the Kaoss pad.

-KLH
    -KLH
    Visit DJF's Beginner's MEGA thread and drop by my Facebook Fan Page.
    I've read the books like How to DJ right... to learn about... beatmatching, phrasing w/e , Speed Test Scrabble Word Finder Solitaire but when I go to mix...

Ty for replying.

Okay, didn't knew that. Well I don't especially need the Kaoss Pad, it was more as an example... So there isn't any effects unit I can connect to mine mixer?
    When replacing my mixer, what do I need to look out for when I want to connect an effects unit to a mixer?