Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Count Electrifique's n00b DJ diary

Count Electrifique's n00b DJ diary

Well, I've been reading these forums for a while without posting or even registering, but I saw Sigma's thread about noob diaries and really liked the idea and decided to give it a go.

A bit about myself
    Well, I am a newbie wannabe DJ located in Moscow, Russia. I am 20 years old and I have always liked music in general. My musical taste is pretty wide, I think. I want to share the feel of music with others, to make them feel the same thing I feel when I hear sound, so I decided to give it a try as a DJ.
    What gear you use
    Traktor Kontrol S4 and iPad with TouchOSC. The software is Traktor Pro, obviously.
    What genre(s) you spin
    Electro House, Nu Disco, EBM, Dubstep, Electro Swing, anything I like.
    How long you've been DJing
    I am just starting, like two months I suppose
    What you're currently working on
    Practicing! Transitions, beatmatching, usage of samples. Everything, basically, since I am just starting out. I feel like I am still pretty bad and don't think that my mixes have any value to anyone yet, so I won't post anything yet. I certainly will, when I progress a bit :)

Cool man. Good luck.

Another one in Moscow, sweet. Good luck mate!

Thanks, both of you!
    I admit, it is weird to see a British guy moving to Moscow though!

https://soundcloud.com/count-electrifique/knife-farty
    Well, I made a short mix. Tried to keep it sort of mainstreamish. I find imy mix awful, but I'd be grateful if someone else pointed at my mistakes. What I myself find wrong:
    - Extremly long opening track. Mixing remix with the original probably wasn't great idea either.
    - BPM drop at 4:25 is too drastic, I think.
    - Well, obvious trainwreck at 15:17
    - Awful ending of the mix

So, what else?

Well, I am just a yellow newbie, but it gives me no excuse.

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by CountElectrfique View Post