PDA

View Full Version : Broken cartridge?

Cryder
02-09-2012, 10:47 AM
Hey guys, I've got a pair of Ortofon Blues that I got with my turntables and the R channel in one of them has stopped working, they've got new "S" styli and I've swapped them in between both tables so I'm pretty sure it's the actual cartridge. I'm new to vinyl so I don't know if there's some trick to get it working again, or is it toast and I need to buy a new one? Thanks!

DTR
02-09-2012, 06:17 PM
When you say you've swapped them, have you swapped the stylii from cart to cart, or swapped the carts from table to table?

djdavidvaux
02-09-2012, 06:27 PM
worth a shot but, take off the whole cartridge, lick your finger and rub it against the gold contacts. its either that, or your wires in the cartridge are bad or frayed...

dskreet
02-09-2012, 08:46 PM
^I wouldn't do that. That could damage the tonearm contacts, maybe not right away but over time.

Cryder
02-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Both, swapped styli and also swapped carts between decks, still the same issue. I take it that since everything's internalized on the concordes that it's pretty must doneski then, yeah?

DTR
02-11-2012, 12:34 PM
Yeah, sounds like the cart's dud. But like DavidVaux said, it is worth giving the contacts a clean just in case. Use a pencil eraser though, no dribble.

Jason Cerna
02-11-2012, 01:00 PM
worth a shot but, take off the whole cartridge, lick your finger and rub it against the gold contacts. its either that, or your wires in the cartridge are bad or frayed...

bad practice and should never be done. if you need to clean the contacts use an eraser, qtips and isopropyl alcohol or a proper cleaner like Caig Deoxit contact cleaner (can get this at radio shack).

Cryder
02-16-2012, 12:11 AM