PDA

View Full Version : Beginner confused about first set up

djp3
06-14-2012, 04:26 AM
Hi, im a beginner dj and have been using a mixtrack pro for the past few months with serato dj intro. I am now looking to upgrade and dont know whether to go for a better controller or a set of cdjs and a mixer. If i do go for the cdjs would it be best to practice with cds or to purchase a dvs system? i am also hoping to progress and become a club dj one day.

RikkiGTR
06-14-2012, 05:44 AM
Firstly, the big question: how much are you willing to spend? We'll need to know your budget before making any recommendations.

Pri yon Joni
06-14-2012, 05:51 AM
As a beginner, I'm assuming that your trying to get the best value for your money. Using timecode/CDJ route will be a little bit of a step backwards, unless you get the control enable CDJ's that are available today (350/850/900/2000). If you plan on going CDJ's, and since you already have experience with a Serato program, the best thing for you to get is...

http://www.pioneerdjusa.com/images/gear/mediaplayers/ddj-s1-4.jpg

The Pioneer DDJ-S1 is Pioneer's take on the Numark NS7, but a little cheaper, and lighter too since it doesn't have moving platters.

The advantage to this is, the buttons are laid out exactly like a CDJ would be. Getting used to this controller is the best way to prep yourself for a Pioneer deck later; the buttons function just about the same way. For $1000, its cheaper than the fully loaded NS7, and easier to carry.

And since it runs on Serato Itch, your playlists that you used with Intro will open inside Itch.

djp3
06-14-2012, 05:56 AM
im willing to spend up to 700 pounds. i am considering the ddj s1 but the only thing stopping me is thinking that i should learn to beat match properly and also if i was called into a club i would need my own scratch live interface so would it just make sense to take the leap towards the cdjs straight away?.

djp3
06-14-2012, 05:59 AM