PDA

View Full Version : First setup, gear selection. (I've done my research) need a little guidance.

nabjab
06-10-2012, 05:54 PM
Hey Guys,

Nabjab here. Just an average joe ready to get into a 10 year dream now. I've been doing a bunch of reading and searching on gear. :freak:

This is what I've got so far: The decks I'm going to get are Audio Technica AT-LP120. I'd get the 1240's but being a noob I seriously doubt I will notice any difference in the motor torque or the more technical details. the 120s seem to have a few more features in the price range then any of the competitors turntables, aswell.

As for the cartridges /stylus goes, the ones with the LP120 will be just fine. I don't need anything fancy. As I will suck at scratching in the beginning I'd rather beat up some cheap needles, and not anything good. I doubt I need anything that reduces skip and jumping.

I have some 20 year old sony studio headphones that fit the job description, and I have a decent stereo for the output.

Here is where the research is starting to get a little tricky. I'm not sure what to do about the mixer, and I think I'm making it harder than it is.

First question: should I spend a little more money and get one that has nice bells and whistles that you can ignore in the beginning and grow into as you get better, or do you spend little money and just get the basics, and when you are ready for more buy a better one?

Number 2: Is there a difference between mixers for vinyl turntables, and cd turntables? Or are the CD mixers usually all built in one products?

Number 3: Inputs/outputs? As time goes on I see myself sampling part of the record and looping it back and then layer over it (all off of the decks). Is this with a snazy mixer/sampler, or two pieces of equipment? computer free.

Any other tips for a noob would be helpful and maybe someone that has good condition used Audio Technica AT-LP120s? I looked in the classifieds and equipment sale, and I didn't see any.

Thanks!

Dix