PDA

View Full Version : Need help deciding between two systems.

underdogdj
06-08-2012, 02:10 AM
Hey everyone,

I am currently new to the whole DJ scene and am looking to make a purchase.

I will either be purchasing 2x Numark NDX400 / 1x Behringer VMX200USB
or the Traktor Kontrol S4.

The reason for this thread is I need opinions on what people believe to be a better
setup. e.g. pros and cons.

Thankyou.

DJ Highline
06-08-2012, 07:22 AM
I think you will find overwhelmingly people are going to say to go with the S4. Its a pretty powerful controller and it high quality especially compared to the mixer you have chosen.

underdogdj
06-08-2012, 08:34 AM
What advantages specifically does it have?
Does the Numark setup have anything over the S4?
Thank you for the response also.

RikkiGTR
06-08-2012, 09:08 AM
I'm not an expert, so take what I say with a pinch of salt, but...

I think the S4 is right up there with the best of controllers in that sort of price range. And seeing as it comes with the full version of Traktor Pro 2 - you'll be all set "out of the box". As DJ Highline said it is pretty powerful, and with the software you'll have basically limitless potential with your mixes.
Then the Numark CDJs and Behringer mixer. I don't know much about the CDJs, but I'm sure they are nowhere near as good as the 'simulated decks' you'll get with Traktor, with much less features and flexibility. The Behringer mixer itself is crap - I bought one just before I went digital with my Pioneer DDJ-T1, the sound was awful; when fading in a new track there was no sound... no sound... no sound... BOOM BOOM BOOM (you understand?) - this was regardless of which curve I used iirc.
Also, the BPM counter* was useless whereas on Traktor it is almost always razor-sharp accurate. Having said that I'm assuming the Numark CDJs have a beat counter themselves? I don't know much about them.

Still, would definitely recommend the S4.