PDA

View Full Version : Mixin Hip Hop for beginners: tips needed!

Silvia Nasty
05-30-2012, 10:50 AM
Hi everyone, I'm new in this forum, I'm also new at djing, I've been doing it just for 2months now.
I want to mix hip hop songs but I'm having hard time doing it.
I got the beatmaching part. The problem is: when do I go from one song to the other??
There's not many Hip Hop songs with long intro/outro with just kicks & snare so I don't really know how and when to make the mix. Should I use some effects???
I use a Pioneer 350 System.

Thank you in advance.

Silvia

akswun
05-30-2012, 11:53 AM
know the music that you're playing. I know you're new and probably rely on long intro/outros or even looping music, if you're using a DVS. But again know your music. If a song starts after 4 beats figure out the last 4 beats in the chorus of the track you're mixing out. Same with tracks with 8 beats. Sometimes it can be a quick 2 or even a snare prior to the beat drop but knowing when to throw it in is key. If you keep on relying on long intros/outros/loops things get redundant and boring. Usually a chorus is about 16 bars but could be different depending on the song. So count, listen, count some more, listen again and again, and practice.

Silvia Nasty
05-31-2012, 02:53 AM
Thank you very much for your reply.
Ok let’s say I’ll practice and understand the bars-concept, I have a new problem then: how do I go from one song to another? Simply decreasing the first song volume and raise the second very quick?? My concern is the fact that the rap part of the first one would go on the second one…I don’t know if I’m explaining myself… I just don’t think that having the two rapping together sounds well.

akswun
05-31-2012, 06:29 AM