PDA

View Full Version : Looking for some advice - Table, Facade, and Wash Lighting

Synaxis
02-07-2012, 06:59 PM
So, ever since I was a kid, DJing has always been a dream of mine. I always loved going to weddings and parties, just to see the DJ and all his equipment in action!

Anyway, now, that I'm in my first year of college, and saved up some money, I'm attempting to slowly piece together a mobile setup.

Essentially, my goal is to have a small, compact, yet elegant mobile setup. I basically want to minimize setup and tear down time, while still keeping a professional appearance.

This video shows what I'm trying to accomplish:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8zf4faqDKI

A small facade just like that, with a small table in the middle, and all my equipment in my rack on top.

I just don't like that keyboard?? stand he is using. I would prefer something more sturdy, to safely hold a 40+ lb rack.

Any recommendations for a smallish table and facade?

Also, I'm curious as to how some of you use your wash lights. Some DJs just place uplights behind them and under scrims, and don't use any additional washes pointing at the dance floor. Is that acceptable?

I was looking at getting two of the new Chauvet Colorband Pix Minis, http://www.chauvetlighting.com/colorband-pix-mini.html
And maybe mount them under both speakers, but then I worry that they are going to be too bright at that close of a range.

So I'm debating as to whether go for a more direct or indirect wash.

Thanks for the help!

DJ Donnie Lewis
02-08-2012, 08:29 AM
I cant view the video at work but those wash lights look really cheesey. Uplighting can be used as a wash in the same manor, plus it will look a lot better. Just my personal opinion.

Matt Ush
02-08-2012, 07:44 PM