PDA

View Full Version : Speakers for an old man

Alexonguitar
05-09-2012, 12:57 PM
Hey guys,
My dad and I have been doing mobile DJing for weddings for a combined 40 years. However, my dad is getting kind of old :) We are looking for a really good sounding speaker set up that is not too heavy. We are not very interested in a Bose system. To me they didn't seem very powerful. If someone disagrees I would like to hear from you because I honestly haven't listened to them that much.

The best option would be 2 powerful 15 inch speakers on tripods with a phenomenal low end that is powered and light weight. :) :) :) However, if that does not exist then 2 X 15 inch power speakers on tripods with 1 or 2 powered subwoofers on the floor as long as they are not too heavy either. We are money concious but it is not that big of a deal.

Our biggest concerns are the sound, wieght, and time it takes to set up (quicker the better). Any ideas?

sss18734
05-09-2012, 01:25 PM
The Bose systems are more than adequate for most weddings, but are fairly limited on output.

It's hard to achieve great low end with mains alone... Maybe get a pair of QSC K10's along with something like the JTR Growlers?

What kind of vehicle do you use to transport your equipment? Heavy subs aren't very difficult to move around on casters if you have a truck or trailer.

Unknown DJ
05-09-2012, 01:32 PM
RFC Art 10's only weight 30 pounds each:
http://www.rcf.it/products/pro-speaker-systems/art-series/art-310-a

The RCF SUB 705-AS only weighs 70 pounds
http://www.rcf.it/en_US/professional-speaker-systems/sub-series/sub-705-as

Also FTB has some really light weight speakers:

Sub under 50 pounds
http://www.spectrumaudio.com/fbt-evomaxx-9sa.html

10 inch powered speaker under 22 pounds
http://www.spectrumaudio.com/fbt-evo-maxx-2a.htmll]

DJAkash
05-09-2012, 01:33 PM