PDA

View Full Version : Peavey SP6

richard stringer
05-05-2012, 05:34 PM
Anyone had any experience with or actually heard the Peavey SP6 speaker cabs? I see they've got a horn loaded midrange driver, and i'm wondering how they sound.

Dix
05-05-2012, 06:02 PM
I've been using the SP4's since 2004 & I like them but, they are big, heavy & bulky. I am eager to find something smaller & lighter.

richard stringer
05-05-2012, 06:16 PM
I don't mind the size and weight because i've got mates helping me set up, but I was looking at the JBL PRX425 cabs too, they look like newer versions of the MRX525 but with a JRX horn flare. I'm also wondering about the EV Tour-x TX2152 but i've never heard any of these speaker cabs.

richard stringer
05-06-2012, 02:38 AM
ARRGH, decided against the PRX425 cabs, the PRX400 series has the same drivers as in JBL's old crappy MP200 series.:uhoh:

jayhwk
05-06-2012, 02:31 PM
I'd actually think twice about a dual 15. They look a lot louder but have a lot of disadvantages when compared with a single low frequency driver loudspeaker.

richard stringer
05-07-2012, 03:20 AM
I don't care at all how loud a speaker looks, i've got two JBL SRX728S dual 18" subs so was thinking about dual 15" mid/highs because they'd be able to keep up with my subs spl wise, but after some looking about i've decided that when it comes time to upgrade my mid/highs that i'm gonna go for either two Nexo PS15 cabs with one cab per channel in stereo powered by a QSC Powerlight 4.0 or maybe if there's any way I can find a pair, two TQ440 cabs with a QSC PLX3102 powering the low section and an RMX2450 powering the mid/high section.

Using either of those options will give me higher spl and less comb filtering.

mr.doom
05-07-2012, 08:50 AM