PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference between the M3D and the MK3D?



Pri yon Joni
05-02-2012, 10:21 PM
Ok, so I own an M3D...and I understand it's a little different from the older MK3 of the 90's. However I also came across a model number that I have never seen before, the MK3D. It looks like the M3D to me; same bulbs, same safe resistant on/off switch, and a separate quartz button.

Is this a totally different model? Or is it a batch misprint or reprint of what is actually an M3D?

Pri yon Joni
05-02-2012, 10:21 PM
I've also considered it could be printed differently if it came from a different factory or country, but the answer has been bugging me.

Nicadraus
05-02-2012, 10:49 PM
Hi Pri yon Joni! To answer your question. First, the only difference of the M3D and MK3D is mainly the voltage. MK3D units are exclusively for Japanese market only which makes them 100v. While M3D units vary from 110v (US version) to selectable/variable voltage of 110-220v (Europe and Asia). Second, all Technics SL-1200 are made at the Matsushita factory in Japan. No other country made the 1200.

Hope this helps. :)

Pri yon Joni
05-16-2012, 06:46 AM
according to wikipedia its available in japan only, but wikipedia is not accurate with their facts with the 1200's, i'm still baffled i came across a silver MK3D

Nicadraus
05-16-2012, 07:48 AM
according to wikipedia its available in japan only, but wikipedia is not accurate with their facts with the 1200's, i'm still baffled i came across a silver MK3D

Yes the MK3 is a Japan only release but I was lucky to have them as my first 1200 pair back in 1991 when my friend's dad got them in Tokyo. It was also the first time I saw a black pair of 1200s. I couldn't explain the happiness and excitement I felt back then. All MK3 units are black. Actually not black but very, very dark grey that is close to black.

MK3D is different from MK3 units. MK3D is Japanese version of M3D. The only difference are the voltage. As I mentioned on my previous post, MK3D runs on 100v. My personal decks are MK3D but I have converted the voltage from 100v to 220v already.