PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Ableton Live Intro

justhansel
05-02-2012, 12:25 PM
Was considering purchasing Ableton Live Intro, looking to produce music but I would just be a beginner and this program seems to be cool to start with. Anyone here use or have used it before? Thoughts on how it would be for a beginner?

login
05-02-2012, 01:09 PM
It would be good as it provides many thing usefull but download the DEMO and check it out, you would maybe need a good VST Synth too since it doesnt come with any. There are some free and some comercial ones, from quite cheap to very expensive. I would recommend: u-he plug ins like DIVA or Zebra, Native Instruments Massive and reaktor, Cakewalk Zeta+, Faw Circle, DCAM Synth Squad, Fabfilter twin, Camel Audio Alchemy, and look around at kvraudio.com for freebies.

justhansel
05-02-2012, 01:51 PM
Now I am a beginner, and this may be a dumb question, but is a synth just a program that allows you to create certain sounds that are included in just that synth, also do you control the sounds they make with a drum pad or a piano roll?

login
05-02-2012, 02:01 PM
Now I am a beginner, and this may be a dumb question, but is a synth just a program that allows you to create certain sounds that are included in just that synth, also do you control the sounds they make with a drum pad or a piano roll?

In a DAW there are two ways to create sounds:

Recorded samples
Synthetizers.

The first are recorded instruments of any kind you can imagine: piano, drums, guitars, other synthetizers, etc etc. There are ton of libraries out there one of the more popular is Kontakt by native instruments.

Ableton Live comes with a library of sample instruments that is good to begin with (and interesting). To be honest I dont know how much different is the Intro to "Normal" version of live library, I guess thay are quite similar.