PDA

View Full Version : HELP progressing as a DJ

dbeckham2314
05-01-2012, 04:43 PM
Hey everybody,

Im new here so be kind. But anyways, I have been djing for about 2 years now and recently have gotten more serious about it.
I currently use a macbook pro, an American Audio VMS2, and Virtual DJ LE. I am wondering if my setup (besides speakers, obviously) should have anything else added to it (preferably inexpensive) to help me progress as a dj.

I am willing to hear any/ all suggestions!

Thanks,

DBecks

Synergy
05-01-2012, 05:38 PM
get some tables and use your dvs system as it was intended? learn to beatmatch by ear with cdjs or tts.

dbeckham2314
05-01-2012, 07:30 PM
what is dvs?

matty1551
05-01-2012, 07:35 PM
what is dvs?

Oh boy....buy mine and I'll tell you.

Atomisk
05-01-2012, 11:39 PM
what is dvs?

Digital Vinyl System. It's a program that lets you play sound files off your computer.

Andrew B
05-02-2012, 01:03 AM
get some tables and use your dvs system as it was intended? learn to beatmatch by ear with cdjs or tts.

He doesn't have a DVS. But learning to beatmatch by ear is definitely recommended to progress as a DJ.

mostapha
05-02-2012, 01:11 PM
It's not about the equipment. Find flaws in your technique and work on them.

If you have money and find a piece of gear that helps you do something that you want to do better than what you have, go for it…but technique should come before toys if you want to progress.

Synergy
05-02-2012, 04:12 PM
always record when u play...always

Evolved
05-04-2012, 01:55 PM