PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Needs Advice

andyeperry
04-21-2012, 10:04 AM
About five years ago i began producing music. Originally an interest it soon turned into an obsession, so much so that I went onto university where I am currently studying music technology. I am now at a point where i want to start performing my music live (garage/house/bass/120-140BPM). In this sense I have done things in reverse, first learning to produce and now secondly DJ. I don't want to waste anymore time and I would like to get on my feet as soon as possible. This is where i need some help and advice. Carrying out my research about what technology I should buy my head has been turned in every direction imaginable. It is now to the point that I am just plain lost and confused. Turntables? CDJs? DJ Controllers? So much choice. And then there are all of the views on what a DJ should and shouldn't do, about whats right and wrong. For example some people suggest avoiding DJ controllers all together so that I will learn to beat match properly, where as certain forums will state that it doesn't strictly matter whether or not you can beat match perfectly in this day & age because of the technology that is available to you.

I am 22 and, currently with zero experience, want to be a confident DJ by this time next year. I currently have about £600 to spend give or take some, but am also blessed with an older brother who owns a pair of Technics 1210s (although buying the records i want to spin would soon add up). I have looked into various controllers including Novations Twitch, Traktors S2/S4 and Denons DNMC6000. CDJs of course will be a popular recommendation but they are so bloody expensive.

What are your tips on where i should start as a beginner wanting to dive in and get to grips with DJing asap. I want to start playing out as soon as I'm confident. I have no interest in scratching.

DJ Matt
04-21-2012, 10:14 AM