PDA

View Full Version : Scratch session critique.

DJArmani
04-18-2012, 10:50 PM
What's up guys, I've been on here creating threads asking about scratching, and mixing hiphop. I just wanted to post up my first EVER scratch session and wanted you guys to give me some pointers, or critique on my session. In this session, I'm practicing tears and some baby scratch (learned from watching DJ Angelo videos :) ) and I've been scratching for about 4 months on turntables now.

-Constructive criticism and how I can improve** thanks..

http://www.mixcrate.com/mix/142908/scratch-session-tears--baby-scratch-

Haddock
04-19-2012, 08:18 PM
You were doing a lot of three staged tares (forward/back/back or forward/forward/back) Try doing some other variations like forward/forward/back/back or forward/back/back/back/forward/forward. This also will help keep you out of the trap of ending your phrases on the same beat all the time. I fell into that and am just getting out of it three years in.

DJArmani
04-20-2012, 07:46 PM
Thanks! +rep for being the only person to respond.

djwes
04-21-2012, 07:56 PM
You need to vary what you're doing in several ways, most importantly speed. Think about your tears and baby scratch speed on a scale from 1 to 10. You're doing most everything at the same speed setting. Trying doing it at twice the speed of the beat, the same speed, and half the speed. As the other dude said, switch it up so you're doing different combinations of moving forward and back - but apply different speeds to that - to each cut. Try varying your speed relative to the beat - twice the speed, the same speed as the beat, and half the speed. Do those combinations in straight time, and also triplets. Start your combinations with forward movements on the record, and then the same ones starting by moving backwards.