PDA

View Full Version : Hard to find songs. Where to get them, and how to assess the quality?

MrWalzak
10-21-2018, 05:16 PM
Hi guys.

I'm very new to Djing so I'm still in the process of building my music collection.
I'm pretty happy with how it's turning out. Listening to other people's mixes has introduced me to so much great music.
I currently buy most of my music off Itunes, but am having a lot of trouble finding rare songs, old songs, original versions etc.
How do you guys find high quality digital copies of rare songs that aren't available on the major distribution platforms?
Furthermore, how can I tell if the songs I'm downloading for free from platforms like soundcloud are "club quality"?
I provided some examples of songs I'm having trouble finding below. Some are classic house, some are more recent, and others are hard to find remixes.
It's frustrating because it's clear that some of these songs were available for free on platforms like soundcloud or facebook when they released, but now the links are dead.
Keep in mind that I'm in Canada, so some of these songs might be even harder for me to find than for someone in the states because of cross border copyright weirdness.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-0GFQolV-I

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6TvqFaNio0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aS0mqFWZzUg

Sometimes Itunes has copies of the music I want, but not the original copy. Like my Itunes copy of Pete Heller's Big Love is not the original 10 minute version.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHFhMwDq9eA
It's the 6 1/2 minute version from the "DJ Irene Progressive dance mix 1999" with some catty girl talking about guest lists and stuff during the outro. :(
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OiQBUEzE9o

Does anyone else have tracks they can't find, but want to add the their music collection?
It sure is frustrating to have so much music that I can listen to easily, but can't realistically play through my controller.

djnotapplicable
10-21-2018, 06:03 PM