PDA

View Full Version : Confidence...

DoppleGanga
07-12-2018, 12:56 AM
DJ'ing at a house party or playing at a wedding for your own family or family friends is very different for me than playing in front of people I don't know for money!

I have confidence in my mixing capability and song choice but theres just something about playing in front of strangers that makes me nervous. Is there any advise anyone can give me to deal with the nerves and also some advise on how to boost my confidence as well??

Despite having some experience i still see myself as a complete noob so any and all advise is welcome :)

David Bowman
07-12-2018, 04:43 AM
Cup of Horlicks and a Thai massage.

dlove
07-12-2018, 05:44 AM
DJ'ing at a house party or playing at a wedding for your own family or family friends is very different for me than playing in front of people I don't know for money!

I have confidence in my mixing capability and song choice but theres just something about playing in front of strangers that makes me nervous. Is there any advise anyone can give me to deal with the nerves and also some advise on how to boost my confidence as well??

Despite having some experience i still see myself as a complete noob so any and all advise is welcome :)

Hi, I'd say keep it in perspective - you know your music, you know what to do with it, so all you have to do is change your mindset about your nerves. Look forward to getting a rush from having to do things right first time, and get into that feeling when it's there as it's a learning curve you'll be proud of yourself for riding-out.

Personally whenever I feel a bit flustered, I say to myself 'Cool Your Mind' (DBC song lyric) - no doubt you'll have a favourite lyric or something that can pull your mind back up to your flow on a nerve-wracking night. All the Best!

Duluxx
07-12-2018, 09:35 AM
Cup of Horlicks and a Thai massage.

Are you referring to a rub and tug? Lol

JackStalk
07-12-2018, 11:08 AM