PDA

View Full Version : How long does it take to actually scratch?

DJArmani
04-12-2012, 09:38 PM
I've been scratching for about 6 months now. I know it takes time to learn how to scratch, but I feel for the last 2 months, I haven't been progressing. I know 6 months is VERY LITTLE time. But out of curiosity, how long does it take to typically scratch well enough to be able to scratch in your mixes, live, etc. ? It varies from person to person, but how long did it take some of you on here to learn how to scratch? I feel like I was making progress and now I'm just doing the same old thing: Baby scratch, tears, and using the fader for comboes between baby scratch, and tears, and trying to learn faderwork.

djlotus
04-12-2012, 09:45 PM
Have you learned any open fader scratches, and if so have tried mixing up the combos between open and closed fader scratches. Maybe some pitch bends or try making the records talk as opposed to straight juggling.

Sigma
04-12-2012, 10:00 PM
After 6 months I would say that you should be competent enough at some basic scratches to be using them in your mixes, but everyone progresses at a different rate.

Record your practice sessions and keep them. Because you hear your scratching all the time, it can be hard for you to tell if you've got any better, but normally if you listen to a practice from, say, 2 months ago and compare it with where you're at now, you will hear the progression.