PDA

View Full Version : How do change up your BPM's?

minute94
04-11-2012, 11:03 PM
Hi everyone. I'm still fairly new to DJ'ing, but i have been doing it long enough to create decent mixes. The only problem is that they're all somewhat in the same genre/ BPM range as the song that i start out with. So how would you guys go from, say, 80 BPM to 120 or 128? Would you just slowly pick songs that are a slightly higher BPM until you reach 120-128 or do you have a technique to quickly transition? Same question for 128 to 140 (house to dubstep).

EDIT: Just to be clear, i understand that you could just slowly increase the BPM until you reach your desired BPM, but do you use any techniques to quickly jump/ fall?

PONTUS.2
04-11-2012, 11:14 PM
with EDM that you are going to be doing long mixes on the way i did it (with dnb) is i would just slowly bring down the pitch, or up the pitch in small increments

Phi
04-12-2012, 02:56 AM
I'm just beginning to incorporate bpm variation into my mixing, but I will throw in my two cents.

If I wanted to drop bpm from 120 to 80 I might try a "powerdown" and when the 120 track slows down enough I would drop a beat at 80.

If I wanted to quickly transition between bpms then I would loop, sample, or create, an ambient outro/breakdown and mix in at a different bpm.

If you anticipate this bpm change then slowly move the pitch a little over the tracks directly before a quick transition technique, it will help "soften the blow˝

Drevo
05-02-2012, 10:19 PM
quick cutting of crossfader and use of acapellas and loops. i know a lot of people might give them grief but transition tracks are really your friend. either get them from record pools or make them in your daw (I use ableton) they aren't too difficult to make simple ones. when spinning open format at things like fraternity events transition tracks and acapella outs are life savers.

Molbster
05-03-2012, 05:04 PM