PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy an interface, need some help



TBA
04-08-2012, 04:16 AM
Hey peoplez,
Currently, my set up is 2x CDJ 800, DJM 400 and some crappy speakers. I am tired of burning CDs and want to start DJing with Traktor so that I can have access to ALL my music through my lap top.
My question is, I've been looking at the Traktor Audio 2 but I'm not sure exactly how all the connections work. Here is their website diagram:
http://www.native-instruments.com/#/en/products/dj/traktor-audio-2/?page=1961

Can someone please explain how I would route everything into my 2 channel mixer w/ the Audio 2 and my CDJs/speakers?
Do I need a bigger (4-channel) mixer? Or a bigger interface?
The diagrams are confusing the shit out of me. Sorry 4 being a n000b

DJNR
04-08-2012, 05:07 AM
You can't use an Audio 2 for what you are running because the Audio 2 is designed for controllers. You would have to buy an audio 4, 6, 8, or 10.


Here's the appropriate diagram you should be looking at:
http://www.able.audiomidi.com/Libraries/Reviews/Traktor_setup.sflb.ashx

Here's what's going on:
You plug your decks into the INPUT of the hardware box, which then has an OUTPUT that goes to the mixer. The INPUT reads the signal from the timecode and that signal is then translated into movement of the tracks within Traktor, which is then OUTPUTed to your mixer. As for speakers, you would plug them in like you normally would.

You can do it with your mixer, but you need to have the appropriate hardware.

B.Frank
04-08-2012, 10:16 AM
Pretty much what he said. If you wanted to get rid of the cdjs all together you could still pick up an audio 2 and some kind of controller like the x1.

http://images-l3.native-instruments.com/typo3temp/pics/T_fda3434027.png?1333388476

Andrew B
04-08-2012, 10:34 AM
At this point, your choices are buying either Traktor Scratch A6, or Traktor Scratch A10.

DJNR
04-08-2012, 01:32 PM
At this point, your choices are buying either Traktor Scratch A6, or Traktor Scratch A10.

Or one of the older boxes. :argh:

TBA
04-08-2012, 02:03 PM
thanks for the help. guess i gotta start saving for the A6

Andrew B
04-08-2012, 02:09 PM
Or one of the older boxes. :argh:

Which, with the necessary upgrade kit, would be near the same price.