PDA

View Full Version : Ableton 9 Thread

thehadgi
04-07-2012, 08:40 PM
Ableton 9 should be coming out in the forseeable future, which has me and most likely other Abletonians excited. Right now I don't think anything is confirmed or even referenced by the Ableton team, but this is what I pulled from www.everythingableton.com

What’s Coming in Ableton Live 9

It’s been a loooong time since Ableton Live 8 was released – 2 years, 4 months and 9 days to be exact. There was a lot of speculation that Live 9 would be released at this year’s NAMM show, featuring 64 bit support and a range of other new features. Still, there’s been no whisper from Ableton as of yet. So: when is Live 9 really coming, and what can you expect from Live 9?

Bear in mind that the following is purely speculation – although, as a software developer myself, I’m prepared to say that it’s fairly confident speculation.

What We Know
Before Live 8, Ableton was reasonably efficient at up****** Live, almost on a yearly basis. Now it’s getting closer to 3 years without an announcement from Ableton.
Ableton 8.2 was released however, and while it was a great update, it probably wasn’t the update a lot of people were hoping for. Aside from this, Ableton is only up****** Live on a regular basis for bug fixes and small feature additions.
Ableton Live is missing some great features that it would really benefit from – 64 bit support is the main contender here.
Ableton’s software team isn’t getting any smaller. While updates and bug fixes do take a massive amount of development time, a couple of updates over 3 years doesn’t match up. Unless the developers are all busy shooting bubbles, that is.
Ableton said that they’re working on Ableton Live 9.

What Does this Indicate?