PDA

View Full Version : needs advice on new gear

BoonDoc
04-07-2012, 08:17 PM
Im going to get straight to it I'm a 10 year vet to the industry started on old school vinyl for 3 years and the rest of the time was spent mostly on a vastax vci300 but do to health problems i had to sit back for a year and had to sell off almost all of my old equipment i have a budget of 3500-4k any and all suggestions would be helpful

KLH
04-07-2012, 10:59 PM
You need to decide what you'd like to use and go from there. Your budget allows a lot of flexibility unless you have to include a PA system.

Do you want TTs, CDJs, or a controller?

-KLH

DJNR
04-08-2012, 04:52 AM
Lots of options in that bracket. Anything from CDJs to Turntables are available. I would narrow your options/preferences a bit :)

BoonDoc
04-08-2012, 10:00 AM
I want to get back to the turntables with serato but the whole 900$ price tag for the rane mixer alone kinda bugs me out but I hate being called a button pusher with things like the ns6 and other standalone midi style controllers I have all my PA still so my budget is strictly for the platers mixer and software/hardware already have the Mac book pro

DJ Highline
04-08-2012, 11:53 AM
Well you figure that you are probably gonna spend about $8 - 1200 on a pair of turntables (used Tech 1200s or new Stanton 150s) with carts. Then you need to decide whether you want to go with Serato or Traktor. If you are going with Traktor I would say get yourself either a Denon X1600 mixer which is a 4ch mixer or a Pioneer DJM-T1 which is a 2 ch mixer, both are Traktor Certified and comes in at about $1000. If you want to go with Serato then you are best off getting a Rane Sixty-One Mixer at $1400 and a Denon HC-1000S Serato controller. Even at the most pricey that still only $2600...With the extra money left over, you can add a pair of studio monitors or a pair of the new Denon SC3900 players and cases for everything.