PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Speaker Recommendations?

McChickenMonkey
09-08-2015, 02:09 PM
I have been looking at threads on here but can't seem to find exactly what I am looking for and I don't really know much about speakers. I am just starting out as a DJ and I am having a difficult time finding a good quality and affordable speaker system. I have a numark mixtrack pro and I want to play some small house parties (maybe 50-75 people). I play dance music, mostly progressive house and my budget is around $250-300. I can't justify paying too much more than that because they may get wrecked at house parties. I am assuming I would need a loudspeaker of some kind and I have been doing some research on here and it seems like 15" would sound better? Would something like a Harbinger be something worth spending money on? I'd rather pay for something that is higher quality that will last me rather than something cheap that will break.

akswun
09-08-2015, 02:59 PM
What about renting? I own studio monitors(KRKs) but I rent speakers for larger gigs. It's cheaper for me personally because I don't gig that often. Like once a quarter but renting is fairly cheap.

McChickenMonkey
09-08-2015, 03:33 PM
That's a good idea but I think I would rather own speakers so I can do a gig on the fly

drzinc
09-08-2015, 04:10 PM
At your budget you are better off buying used good speakers.

conanski
09-08-2015, 04:49 PM
Reliable and decent sounding powered speakers start with the EV ZLX series, and the bonus with these is they are super light and therefore easy to move. I'd suggest renting until you collect enough money to buy a pair of these. You could probably find some used Behringers within your budget but they will be heavy and sound pretty bad. Anything you find in a new powered speaker for $250-300 a pair will be complete junk, they will sound bad and probably won't last through the first gig.

mitchiemasha
09-08-2015, 06:44 PM