PDA

View Full Version : Suitable Controller?

coyote234
03-30-2012, 05:46 PM
Hello,
I am in the process of changing over to a computer for mobile DJing which I have been doing for 10+ years now (mostly weddings, anniversaries, etc.) and am looking for a controller & software that will meet my needs.
Specifications:
-software doesn't matter - have been looking at virtual dj or traktor
-needs to be portable and lightweight
-don't need to do a ton of fancy effects (coming from a dual cd player and mixer)
-would like to be able to hook up a dual cd player (if needed, and for the first few events I do off of a computer for 'back up' use of cds just in case)

--biggest thing - needs to have at least 2 separate mic inputs - are there any controllers that have 2 dedicated mic inputs so 2 people can talk and use them at the same time...if not, what would you suggest -- purchasing a small separate mixer? using my current numark cdmix 3 (if that would work)?

Have been looking at Hercules RMX (which has been around since 2008) or Traktor S2 --any recommendations? other options?

I've heard the microphone output (loudness) is not good in the RMX?

Thanks!

DJ Matt
03-31-2012, 07:46 AM
i use the Denon MC6000 and i would recommend it for this purpose, sure all the controllers have lots of functions that you may or may not use, but they are layed out pretty nicely on that unit, which will eventually probably result in you utilising them :)

as i do, you can opt to just take the mc6000 with you on its own to a gig, (with an ipod or a seperate laptop for backup) or you can bring along CD players/turntables and hook them up to it.

i also have a RMX but i would not recommend it for mobile gigs simply because its dependent 100% on your laptop and the inputs are also routed through the computer, the sound isnt as good.
you would need an external mixer if you want to hook up CD players, and thats just more hassle for you.