PDA

View Full Version : Need help choosing a laptop



George
03-28-2012, 05:16 PM
I a planning on buying the pioneer ddj s1 controller that uses serato itch and was wondering what laptop I should buy I had my eye
On something cheap like http://www.jbhifionline.com.au/computers-laptops/laptops/toshiba-c665d-056-15-notebook/661933 . What other gear will I
Need eg sound card etc?

sss18734
03-28-2012, 07:02 PM
I'm not liking the processor in that laptop you have listed. If you can, either go with a 2.5ghz+ Core 2 Duo or any 2ghz+ i3/i5 processor. These seem to be least problematic with Traktor, especially the i-series.

The S2 has a built in sound card, so you're good on that aspect.

Unknown DJ
03-28-2012, 09:47 PM
This should work.

http://www.jbhifionline.com.au/computers-laptops/laptops/asus-a54c-sx137v-15-6-notebook/662520

VjQue
03-28-2012, 10:15 PM
I'm not liking the processor in that laptop you have listed. If you can, either go with a 2.5ghz+ Core 2 Duo or any 2ghz+ i3/i5 processor. These seem to be least problematic with Traktor, especially the i-series.

The S2 has a built in sound card, so you're good on that aspect. he said serato itch and not the S2 and traktor.

That laptop is good for itch

sss18734
03-28-2012, 10:19 PM
he said serato itch and not the S2 and traktor.

That laptop is good for itch

My bad. I should read more. The Serato products seem to be easily compatible with just about any PC out there, unlike Traktor.

Andrew B
03-28-2012, 10:39 PM
My bad. I should read more. The Serato products seem to be easily compatible with just about any PC out there, unlike Traktor.

Serato doesn't support PCs with AMD processors.

George
03-29-2012, 04:33 PM
I was actually looking at this one but I got told to look for something with 4gb ram.. Is there much difference between 2gb and 4?

Andrew B
03-29-2012, 04:38 PM
I was actually looking at this one but I got told to look for something with 4gb ram.. Is there much difference between 2gb and 4?

Either go for 4GB of RAM, or upgrade it yourself.

DjAaron
03-29-2012, 04:41 PM
Serato doesn't support PCs with AMD processors.

I ran serato on a amd with no problems. To me it was perfectly stable but I have stripped the laptop of darn near everything before using it.

KLH
03-29-2012, 06:35 PM
IIRC, the problem with Serato and AMD centered around the Athlon X2 chipset - it was unstable for USB. Serato simply decided to not support AMD from that standpoint onward.

That is not to say that Serato's products won't work with AMD chips; it simply means that Serato won't help you if there is a problem. Still, I'd advise going with the Intel chips anyway.

-KLH

DJTyres
03-29-2012, 06:46 PM
This isn't a suggestion but just to give you an Idea of what I use.
I am running a Lenovo e350 for clubs and for parties an Asus k53e both are tough as hell and the Asus has a accidental warranty for one year so if some one spills beer on it I am all good.
Also the Lenovo has a water resistant keyboard (can't take a lot but could save it's life)

George
03-29-2012, 09:15 PM
And does it need a special soundcard or anything?

ampnation
03-29-2012, 09:22 PM
And does it need a special soundcard or anything?
No. Your soundcard will be external, either in the mixer or in an audio interface.