PDA

View Full Version : Traktor Kontrol S4 Club worthy?

FarawaySkies
03-27-2012, 09:06 PM
I'm looking into getting back into the DJ scene, about 6 months ago I had to sell my cdj's due to life's occasional fails. As much as I'd like too, I'm not prepared to drop the kind of money I want to drop to get some cdj's and a good mixer. Instead I've been eyeballing the Traktor Kontrol S4 for a very affordable way back into the dj environment. I shared the idea with a buddy and got a response similar to, "that would be fun for the bedroom but wouldn't take it to the club." It got me thinking, I'm not buying this shit to mix for myself in the bedroom, I want to be clubbing very soon. So I ask to you seasoned pro's, is the Traktor Kontrol S4 rig a bad idea for me considering I am very serious about getting into the clubs? I thought it would be a very convenient way to get back into it, just carry around an S4 and a laptop. No?

sss18734
03-27-2012, 09:18 PM
I'm not a pro club DJ, but a lot of club DJ's seem to look down on people using controllers as their main interface. But it's getting much more common very quickly.

I say as long as your setup is not interfering with the management or the other DJ's, go for it. And if the club has their own CDJ's, you already have experience on them so transitioning should be no issue.

Andrew B
03-27-2012, 09:21 PM
If you're worried about it, then just use the S4 at home and take some CDs or USB sticks to the club.

FarawaySkies
03-27-2012, 09:24 PM
Good points! Here is another question I have to propose. Can I use the S4 in combination with some cdj's? I thought I could use the S4, and later after I save up some more cash I can just throw some cdj's in the mix.

B3NNY
03-27-2012, 09:24 PM
This is a dude that I'm cool with that I met when we both were dj'n at the same club in Boston one night. He's kinda cheesy, but he says it well.