PDA

View Full Version : How to use Cue on a DJM?

Inferno
11-20-2014, 07:44 AM
Hey guys

I have a gig this evening and its my first time on 100% CDJ's and mixer, i know how to use the CDJ1000's and the DJM to an extent, however ive never had to use the cue function before on one.

I just wanted to check i understand it...

Basically from what i can tell to cue a track is as follows:
1. Main track is playing and fader is up full
2. Load next track into the other channel, with fader down
3. Press cue button on next track
4. Set headphone mix all the way over to cue (i dont need to hear the master to beat match, just to preview volume and starting point, all mixing will be crossfades)
5. Once satisfied with the Cue, de select the cue button on next track and raise fader, press play and move over cross fader at the right moment.
6. Drop volume fader on the previous track and load in next song, repeat cue process...

I just saw theres a cue button on the master but i assume i dont need that? and im also worried about accidentally blasting out a CUE track so wanted to be 100% comfortable with what im doing, cheers for any tips or corrections!

disparate
11-20-2014, 08:06 AM
That seems about right, the master cue turns on and off the function to be able to hear the master with the headphone mix knob which it seems you're happy enough not to use.

I'd love to be enlightened on the design decisions that went on there, between actually putting a cue master button there (surely if you don't want to hear the master you just turn the knob all the way to cue?) and the fact that the master volume in the cue is tied to the master volume slider. Some seriously questionable engineering.

Inferno
11-20-2014, 08:14 AM
That seems about right, the master cue turns on and off the function to be able to hear the master with the headphone mix knob which it seems you're happy enough not to use.