PDA

View Full Version : DJ screw up story and others?

johnrigney73
10-09-2014, 02:21 PM
I wanted to share a story to help other's learn from my mistake. I've been djing weddings for close to 8 years and thought I was past the "you're gonna screw something up," stage. Nope. So I had a wedding at a barn and cocktail hour started at 5pm. I plugged the coordinates into the GPS and got there in a half an hour. I called the night before and spoke to a guy Steve who told me to come anytime to set up. When I got there, there was a guy and I said are you steve and he said no I'm chris my wife know's where you have to set up and he called her and she said which spot was mine (there were a few empty tables so wasn't sure which spot). Ok long story short I went home to shower and got a call from steve at 4:00pm. He said I set up in the wrong spot and I said we'll I can move to whatever table they need me to and he said no you don't understand you set up at the wrong barn! He then told me that his barn is two houses down (about 500 yards over the hill) and there is a dj trying to set up where I did for a wedding at that barn but my stuff is in the way. Steve later told me florists and other professionals have mixed up spots in the past to but never a dj. So I hauled a#% got there at 4:20 and with the help of the caterers from both barns I was able to start the music at 5:01. The dj at the other barn was pretty upset but I guess I can't blame him. So I just wanted to share this as some advice that I will definitely follow in the future... Always make sure to give the name of bride and groom to make sure you are at the right venue before you set up! Can anyone else relate or have any other horror stories?

Jimanee
10-10-2014, 04:06 AM
Funny, similar thing nearly happened at my second ever wedding, driving round the countryside following directions (pre sat nav days).
I saw a farm all decked out for a wedding.

It was near the right spot, I thought bingo.