PDA

View Full Version : Start Producing

lffo
03-19-2012, 08:02 PM
Hey everyone, Ive been djing for 2 years, now I want to get into producing (techno/minimal). Im starting to learn Ableton Live 8 watching some tutorials. I dont have any production gear, only my dj soundcard Traktor Audio 10.

Need some advices to improve my learning... How did you start producing? Any gear for beginners?

Thanks in advance!

Andrew B
03-19-2012, 08:05 PM
You don't really need any gear when you're starting, just software. Pick one and start learning. Once you get properly acquainted with a program, you'll learn what you'll want to make your workflow easier. Eventually you'll want some studio monitors and a nice production audio interface.

jonistaken
03-19-2012, 08:56 PM
Also if you want to make music with tones then I would suggest learning an instrument (preferably piano, but anything will work really) and loading up on music theory.

Karl Dali
03-22-2012, 04:30 AM
Learn your DAW inside out, you need good foundations to build your future projects.

Most people will tell you that you can learn just by experimenting and watching youtube, this is true to a certain extent but, if you want to get the basics down quickly then you should look into pointblank online classes. I've just done one that lasted eight weeks and it was great, i started of with the ''prodcution course'' and next i'll do the ''minimal techno'' course which last's a month.

yes its a bit expensive but if your serious about it then its worth it.

mostapha
03-22-2012, 04:05 PM
I'd say to ignore point blank and all of the other online recording/production schools. If you're really clueless, the schools won't help (there are Fullsail graduates who don't know MIDI from Audio). Look into tutorials for your chosen software first, and read the manual.

The money that you would have spent on a school…spend it on Piano lessons. There are ways around it, but I'd kill to actually be able to play piano well.