PDA

View Full Version : What is considered "normal" latency and lag with controllers? Moving from SSL

robscomputer
03-15-2012, 12:30 PM
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the digital controller world, mostly my experience is with Serato Scratch Live and now a few weeks into Traktor Pro 2. To save space from using turntables I recently purchased a Vestax VCI-400SE. But finding that the delay with the jog wheels/fader is more than I expected. My laptop is current Apple MBP and should be able to handle the load of playing a song with no effects.

I wanted to ask is this latency normal for all controllers? I heard that the only controller with near zero latency is the Kontrol S2/S4 due to HID integration but are there other controllers that also make use of HID? If I switched to an Serato Itch based controller will I have better performance. My requirements are pretty low, I just need something responsive, hardware controls for browsing, and maybe some fx's.

Thanks!

nem0nic
03-15-2012, 01:00 PM
When you talk about latency, you're talking about a LOT of things - most of which have nothing to do with the MIDI controller. So basing your controller decision on latency is a lot like basing your car decision on what the weather is like today.

Go out and get your hands on some controllers and figure out which one you like the best - then buy it.

mostapha
03-15-2012, 02:35 PM
There's no reason that your MBP should be running noticeable latency. It's also probably not the controller's fault. It has more to do with the audio buffer.

What latency is your sound card running at? Anything over about 8-10ms round trip, I start to get annoyed by. My 2011 MBP can easily do <4ms latency depending on the audio card.

KLH
03-15-2012, 06:27 PM
...I recently purchased a Vestax VCI-400SE. But finding that the delay with the jog wheels/fader is more than I expected.