PDA

View Full Version : Djf

sephi
02-06-2014, 12:47 PM
I found this place about a decade ago when I was a kid who had just purchased his first turntables and three cheesy trance records. I was in a total vacuum, living in the middle of nowhere, with nobody to follow irl. Being able to lurk in discussions between DJs all over the globe on DJF was so useful that, when I started playing out, my baseline standards for gear, programming, managing my collection, etc. were on a level beyond that of the locals with whom I was just starting to share the stage. Thanks to this site, I was playing out my own edits on Scratch Live, disregarding genres, mixing harmonically, tackling 6-hour marathon sets, and practicing turntablism while many of my peers were still struggling to play two records at the same speed within their pet genres. Whenever local music scene politics would start to matter to me, I'd drop back into DJF and be reminded that there's a huge world out there, the local scene is just a blip on the radar, and nobody should be discouraged even if they're located in a place where there aren't a lot of chances to learn and grow. How to DJ Right (should be mandatory reading, even if the tech is dated), this forum, and practice/experience are all I've had to go on, and I can honestly say it's been for the better. I stopped DJing some time ago, but I still drop in just to stay up to speed, and hopefully pass on something that I've learned on occasion. There are vastly more resources out there now that EDM is a massive mainstream juggernaut, but when someone asks me how to get started, this is where I send them.

Just wanted to throw that out there. Carry on.

alencr
02-06-2014, 01:49 PM
This is indeed a nice place because of all the hobbies I've had only photography and music<DJing matter.
I will be here for a long time.

diceallion
02-06-2014, 02:54 PM
Im with you Allen, its going to be a great journey and learning process... is it your birthday yet?

alencr