PDA

View Full Version : Cables... Specifically XLR

sobi
03-12-2012, 06:43 PM
I feel sort of silly asking this, as I've been spinning for over 15 years now, but what kind of XLR cables do you mobile guys rely on? Is there a brand you find more reliable, or is it more or less the best kind is the least expensive kind? I've been doing clubs/raves/large events for over 15 years, but during the last few (I took a break for a while), I've gotten into bars and lounges where I bring all my own stuff. Over this past decade and a half, I've always just used hodge podge XLR's that I've gotten from friends, or bought at guitar center one at a time. After a few years of using all my own stuff, my cables are starting to get a little worn, so I want to get some backups/replacements. This time, I want to get them for the whole system, and get whatever has a better reputation versus the first thing I see at Guitar Center with the lowest price tag.

KLH
03-12-2012, 06:57 PM
I just pick up unabused clearance XLR cables at the local music shop. They've been great. While I'm sure that there's a difference in shielding between what I buy and high-end cables, I really couldn't care less. I'm happy with decent-gauge cables - but my runs are usually less than 20' to the furthest speaker.

-KLH

ampnation
03-12-2012, 07:21 PM
The two best cables I have (several of each) are the lifetime warrantied LiveWire's I got at Guitar Center and the one's I made myself using Dayton wire bought at Parts Express and Neutrik connectors. I've heard monoprice are good too. I've bought things from them, but not XLR's and everything is very good quality so far. I noticed that making my own cables is less expensive than monoprice for I believe long cables and monoprice is cheaper for short (or maybe it was the other way around).